Neen Sollars and Milson are two villages situated in the beautiful countryside of South Shropshire sharing the same civil parish. Neen Sollars is intersected by the River Rea and Milson is situated on the Cleobury Mortimer to Tenbury road.
The village of Neen Sollars formerly Neen Baldwin arrived at its name by the merging of the Baldwin le Poer and De Solers families in or about 1200 when Elena and Eustacia Baldwin married members of the Sollars family. From these marriages Neen Baldwin became Neen Sollars.
From archived registers we know that Neen Sollars and Milson were thriving agricultural villages. Neen Sollars had its own school, post office, village shop, inns and railway station (which closed under the Beeching cuts). At the turn of the century the school had in excess of 60 children but with the advent of modern agricultural methods, this figure dwindled and finally the school closed in 1951. Today with the exception of innkeepers and farmers, the rest have gone by the way of progress.
Both villages offer an ideal location as a base for rural vacation and boast historic churches dating back to the 12th and 14th century.
The church of All Saints Neen Sollars stands on the site of a Saxon Church, although nothing of this first building remains. The present church is an almost unaltered example of the 14th century work, consisting of nave, chancel, transepts and low central tower crowned by a spire.
St. George’s Milson dates back to the close of the 11th century, the chancel and nave are of Norman origin, whilst the tower is believed to be constructed in the late 12th century. The stonework and timber porch is 14th century.